Partners Come Together to Celebrate Five Years of Democratic Institutions Programme for Ethiopia

Representatives of the Government of Ethiopia, heads of democratic institutions, development partners and the UNDP gathered to celebrate the success and mark the end of the Democratic Institution Programme (June 2008 –June 2013).
Representatives from Government and development partners lauded the programme for its contribution to the transformational process that is ongoing in Ethiopia and emphasized the imperative to sustain the established positive momentum.

The Democratic Institutions Programme (DIP) is a five-year multi-donor program to strengthen the capacity of seven key democratic institutions. These are 1) House of Peoples Representatives (HoPR) and Regional State Councils 2) The House of Federation and Southern Nations and Nationalities Peoples Regional State (SNNPRS) , Council of Nationalities 3) The Ethiopian Human Rights Commission 4) The Ethiopian Institute of the Ombudsman 5) The Federal Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission (FEACC) 6) The Office of the Federal Auditor General and Regional Auditor Generals (OAG) and 7) The National Electoral Board of Ethiopia (NEBE). The total resource allocated for the programme is USD 47 million. The DIP is funded by the below listed agencies.